Polish longevity check: Polka dot nails

Time to check in on that Polka Dot Nail Art I did last week. How did my Rimmel Salon Pro + Seche Vite manicure last? Amazingly well!  When looking at these pictures, keep in mind that I spend most of my day typing, so my nails are in constant use. I also don’t avoid doing things like opening pull-tab cans or washing dishes. I’d say I’m about in the middle of the pack as far as how hard I am on my manicures – I don’t baby my hands, but neither am I a doctor who has to wash them ten times a day or anything.

Here it was on my left hand the day I applied it:

A closer look at my dots
A closer look at my dots

Here’s how it looked on my right hand day 4. No idea why I switched to photographing that hand, but since I’m right-handed and that one is more likely to show wear anyway, it works for our purposes:

Notice the beginnings of tip wear, especially on index finger and thumb, and the slightly ragged edges at the bottom of each nail
Notice the beginnings of tip wear, especially on index finger and thumb, and the slightly ragged edges at the bottom of each nail

There was a little bit of tip wear, and the bottom edges of the polish on each finger had started to catch in my hair, but for the most part, it looks pristine!

Here’s how it looked on day 6, just before I took it off. Again, right hand:

Tip wear has gotten worse, and chunks are now missing from the bottom of my index finger and thumb
Tip wear has gotten worse, and chunks are now missing from the bottom of my index finger and thumb

The tip wear we saw on day 4 has gotten a little worse, and the bottom edge of my index finger and thumb have chipped a bit, but if you just glanced at my hands quickly, you wouldn’t notice anything amiss. In fact, I had a cashier stop me when I was paying her for my lunch on day 6 to tell me how much she loved my nails! I could probably have gotten another day or two out of this manicure before it became obviously crappy.

So there you have it: Rimmel Salon Pro nail polish, topped with Seche Vite topcoat, equals a 6+ day manicure. Is it the Rimmel or the Seche that makes this a powerhouse manicure? I’m not sure. If people are interested, I might do some tests putting Rimmel alone up against Rimmel + Seche Vite, and see what shakes out (or chips off…)

Leave a Reply

