Revlon Parfumerie Orange Blossom = fail

I’ve been having crazy amounts of success with Revlon products recently. I’m in love with their various types of balm lip crayons, I adore their new Gel Envy nail polish line, and their Parfumerie nail polish line made me wonder why I ever doubted the idea of scented nail polish.

Until today. Today, I decided to hop aboard the summer neon trend and paint my nails with one of my newer Parfumerie acquisitions: Orange Blossom. This is a gorgeous, full-bodied orange color that smells, at least to me, like an orange creamsicle. A creamsicle, guys! What could possibly go wrong?

Revlon orange blossom in bottle
Mmmm, creamsicles

Unfortunately, and very uncharacteristically for this line of polishes, it turns out a lot can go wrong. And by “a lot” I mean “all the streaks. All of them.”

Revlon orange blossom polish
That accent nail, by the way, is also Revlon, this time their new Leather finish in “Leather Skinnies”. Love!

I could not get this polish to even out. It just has no self-level, at all. I tried with base coat, I tried without base coat. I tried thin coats, I tried thick coats. I tried slapping the polish on quickly to avoid dragging, I tried applying it painstakingly slowly. I tried slathering Seche Vite on top to even things up, but all that did was make photography more difficult because of the shine. Nothing worked; no matter what I did, my polish looked like it had been put on by a two-year-old.

Revlon orange blossom polish 2
This is the best photo I was able to get of this hot mess

These photos don’t quite do the mess justice; in real life, the streaks were much, much more evident, but the glare in the pics masks it a bit. It looked so bad, even from a distance, that I didn’t even bother to clean it up or try it on my other hand. I just called it a loss and acetone-d the whole thing into oblivion.

(Comic relief: my husband just came into my work room and asked if I’d painted my nails. I told him that I had, but it looked so bad that I had taken it right off, and offered to show him a picture. I showed him the first swatch from this post, and his response was “Well of course it looked bad, you painted your fingers two completely different colors!” Ah, men.)

My results with Orange Blossom were really, really disappointing, not only because I’ve found that Revlon products are usually very high-quality, but because this particular line of polishes has otherwise proven to be so great for me. The other Parfumerie polishes I’ve tried have applied with no problems at all, and lasted for nearly a week before the first chip. Other than the frosty-finished ones (which tend toward sheerness), many of my Parfumerie polishes have been one-coat wonders, or close to it. The only other Parfumerie polish I’ve had trouble with has been Apricot Nectar, a paler orange, which was also very streaky. I find myself wondering if something in Revlon’s formula for oranges has gone very wrong.

Don’t let this stop you from trying out Revlon Parfumerie polishes, guys. In general, they’re awesome. Just…maybe avoid the oranges if you’re not into streaks.

Leave a Reply

