June Ipsy Bag Swatches

It’s that time of the month again! No, not that one. The other one. Ipsy time! I didn’t peek at my Glam Room this month, so what turned up in my bag was a complete surprise. Here’s what I ended up with:

June Ipsy bag
June Ipsy bag

Contents:

I did a quick test-out of the mascara and the butter gloss on my bare face when the bag arrived. Unfortunately, close-up photography reveals that my upper lip is in serious need of a waxing, so you’re not going to get to see the gloss on my lips today. Instead, you get a super-informative hand swatch! Yay!

NYX Butter Gloss in "Creme Brulee"
NYX Butter Gloss in “Creme Brulee”

I don’t tend to wear a lot of lip gloss these days – I’m either wearing plain old chapstick with no color, or I’m wearing full-on lipstick – but I can see why people like this formula. It’s really soft and, well, buttery on my lips. Feels nice! On the other hand, the color is a big “meh” on me – my lips are already very pale, and Creme Brulee (though it smells awesome!) just washes them out more.

I can’t say this gloss has necessarily persuaded me to start wearing gloss more, but it’s made me curious enough that I’ll probably pick up a Butter gloss in another color next time I’m in CVS and see what I think of it in a color that doesn’t make me look like a zombie. At the $5 price point, it’s cheap enough to be worth a try, or even a couple of tries.

And now, Be a Bombshell’s “Lash Out” mascara. The internet is awash in Very Upset Ipsters complaining about the scent of this stuff. Descriptions range from “rotten” to “like a fuel refinery” to “chemicals with a side of garlic”. And yes, the scent when I opened my mascara and sniffed it was…not delicious. It does indeed smell oddly garlicky.

But you know…I don’t generally stick my nose in my mascara. Opening the tube about 8-12 inches from my face, as I generally do when I’m going to put mascara on, I couldn’t smell anything. Ditto putting it on my lashes: no detectable smell. So yes, kind of stinky in the tube, but not in a way that would prevent me from using it, internet grar notwithstanding.

That all said, this is not a mascara to run for if you’re into Big! Dramatic! Lashes!

Here’s my left eye, with no mascara (on my bare, oily face. What? It’s laundry day, screw getting prettied up!):

Bare eyelashes, open eye
Bare eyelashes, open eye

Here’s my right eye, with two coats of Lash Out on the top, one coat on the bottom.

Two coats of Lash Out on my top lashes, one on the bottom lashes
Two coats of Lash Out on my top lashes, one on the bottom lashes

And again, eyes closed this time:

Bare eyelashes, closed eye
Bare eyelashes, closed eye
Two coats of Lash Out
Two coats of Lash Out

These photos don’t actually do justice to the fact that there is a difference, but it’s a more subtle one than we’re used to seeing in the age of mascara ads that use lash inserts, etc. Lash Out added a bit of length and curl to my lashes, but not dramatically. It’s most visible in these shots on my bottom lashes and at the edge of my eye. And actually, for me, the more subtle effect is ok. I have fairly long, dark lashes to begin with, and most mascaras seem to mostly just clump them up and give me anime eyes. That’s not a look I’m into; I prefer my lashes to look more like eyelashes than spider legs (though if you’re into that look, more power to you!). Lash Out definitely did the job there – my lashes look longer, but I still have every individual lash, and the curl is pretty “wow” considering I didn’t touch an eyelash curler. Amazingly (to me), I had no clumping issues with Lash Out, at all. Not one. No lash comb necessary or anything.

So if you’re into dramatic lashes or unscented product, yeah, this isn’t going to be the product for you. If, on the other hand, you like your lashes to look natural and you can stand a product that doesn’t smell all that great out of the box, Be a Bombshell Lash Out Mascara is definitely worth consideration. It’s going into active mascara rotation for me, because this does what my L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly mascara claimed it would do, and then didn’t.

Leave a Reply

