Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms – Full Collection swatches

Update 7/12/14: While visiting my parents this weekend, I hit up the local grocery store and found Striking just sitting there begging to be bought! Scroll to the bottom of this post to see it.

So I know I said in my last post that I thought I had the full collection of Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms now, but on cross-referencing my list, it turns out I’m still missing Striking. There wasn’t a slot for it in the shop where I bought my last three, so since I’m not sure how hard it will be to find, I’m going to go ahead and give you the swatches of the rest of the collection. If I ever get my hands on Striking, I’ll update this post with swatches of that, too.

Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms collection
Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms collection (left to right: Complex, Mischievous, Elusive, Audacious, Unapologetic, Showy, Sultry, Standout, Shameless. Not pictured: Striking)

The photos you’re about to see were all taken with a combination of artificial light (overhead) and natural light (shining on my face).

Let’s start from the less in-your-face end of the spectrum, with Complex, a peachy-caramel nude. It’s a pretty good match as a true nude on my lips. Now, my lips exist in a perpetual state of chapped-ness, and though I exfoliated before starting these swatches, I don’t seem to have gotten everything, because when I put on some of these matte balms, especially the lighter colors like Complex, it was like “Oh hey yep, there’s five spots I missed.” You can’t make it out in this picture so much because I accidentally had the camera set to beauty mode, which erases those pesky flaws (and all my pores). It’s most obvious in the (unfortunately blurry) Mischievous picture below.

Generally, I’d say if you’re going to use the colors on the lighter end of this collection, definitely plan to exfoliate and moisturize like crazy before applying.

 

Complex
Complex

 

Also Complex!
Also Complex!

 

Next up, Mischievous, a light tangerine-orange. This, too, was patchy, though from more than six inches away (stop staring at yourself in the mirror, Amy!), it’s not nearly as obvious as it felt.

 

Mischievous
Mischievous

 

Also Mischievous!
Also Mischievous, but with bonus blurriness!

 

Elusive, a light pink. This is quite flattering on me, I think.

 

Elusive
Elusive

 

Also Elusive!
Also Elusive!

 

Audacious, a brighter, more-neon orange than Mischievous. Though it doesn’t look it so much in the picture, this read as SERIOUSLY NEON when I looked in the mirror. Not sure I’d ever wear this out of the house.

 

Audacious
Audacious

 

Also Audacious!
Also Audacious!

 

Unapologetic, a bright pink somewhere on the border of orange and fuchsia. Again, this one looks less shocking in the picture than it looked in real life.

 

Unapologetic
Unapologetic

 

Also Unapologetic!
Also Unapologetic!

 

Showy, a bubblegum/barbie pink. This is is a pretty shocking color as well, less because of brightness than because of the…blue? I think it’s blue?…base to the color which reads weirdly against my skin.

 

Showy
Showy

 

Also Showy!
Also Showy!

 

Next, Sultry. I’ve swatched/reviewed this one and Standout for you guys before, but it can’t hurt to do it again in different light! This is a brown-rose-plum sort of hybrid, depending on the light you look at it in. It’s a little darker on me than I anticipated it being. Also I seem to have completely borked actually getting it on my lips in a manner resembling a competent adult, so pardon that.

 

Sultry
Sultry

 

Also Sultry!
Also Sultry!

 

Standout, a srs bizness red which I’m really beginning to love more and more the more I look at it on myself.

 

Standout
Standout

 

Also Standout!
Also Standout!

 

And finally, Shameless. Not for the faint of heart, this is a deep, dark purple. It reminds me a bit of the MAC x Lorde Pure Heroine limited edition from earlier this year. I haven’t tried Pure Heroine on myself, but I think this may be a bit darker, actually. I think pulling this off in a look would require a very smoky eye and a willingness to play the vamp(ire).

 

Shameless
Shameless

 

Also Shameless!
Also Shameless!

 

So, there you have it. This collection has been hit-and-miss for me as far as usability; overall these matte colors seem to be more striking (no pun intended) than similar colors in a gloss or satin finish would, which means I don’t necessarily find myself reaching for these terribly often, because I’m not often looking to make a loud statement with my lips. Nevertheless, other than the three middle “I’m a neon sign” colors, which I’m not sure I can ever dredge up the courage to wear out, this is a good mix of some basics + some dramatics for me, and Standout just makes my heart go pitter-pat!

 

Update 7/12/14: Striking! Completely different lighting, so I apologize for how these swatches are not directly comparable to the ones above as far as my skin tone and how colors compare to it. Also, for some reason, Striking photographed much less colorful than it actually is on me. In real life, it’s a bright coral-orange (the shot of my lips only is closer to its real color than the one of my face). I didn’t expect to like this one because I figured that, like Unapologetic, it would be too bright, but somehow Striking works on my face. It’s still a little out-there to be everyday, to-work wear, but I have a feeling I’m going to be pulling this one out next time I want to make a statement with my lips.

Revlon Matte Balm - Striking
Revlon Matte Balm – Striking
Revlon Matte Balm - Striking
Revlon Matte Balm – Striking
4 thoughts on “Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms – Full Collection swatches

    1. I’d love to see more pictures of people rocking audacious, so let me know (or post it on your blog – I added it to my RSS feeds) if you try it! I feel like it’s one of those colors that will appear completely different on everyone based on their skin tone and what other makeup they wear it with.

Leave a Reply

