Ipsy Bag July 2014

Ipsy time! This month’s bag was a weird one for me; the stuff I expected to love was pretty “meh”, but there was an unexpected gem, as well.

Ipsy Bag - July 2014
Ipsy Bag – July 2014

Let’s start with an inventory. From left to right up there, we have:

  • Whet Nails polish in Facetious, an electric blue. It took three coats to make this color even out and really pop on me, but when it popped, it popped and it looked great! The nail polishes I’ve gotten from Ipsy previously have been ehhhh, ok-ish, so I didn’t expect this one to blow me away as much as it did. This is a mini-size bottle, at 0.3 fl.oz. A full-size 0.5 oz bottle retails for $15, which means the bottle Ipsy sent me is worth about $6.
  • Pixi Tinted Brilliance Balm in Unique Pink, which supposedly a pH-reactive color that personalizes itself to you. You guys know my love for balm crayons, so I was excited to try this, but apparently my pH is “clear chapstick”, because that’s what this looks like on me. I received a 1.8 g sample size, while a 3 g full-size costs $14, so the sample is worth about $8.50
  • Befine Daily Moisturizer with SPF 15. This is an SPF moisturizer with “Rosemary Leaf Oil, Pomegranate Extract, Safflower Seed Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, and Rice protein.” Sounds tasty. I got a 1.5 fl. oz. sample, while a 1.7 oz full-size costs $24, so the sample is worth about $21.
  • Hang Ten Dark Tanning Oil in SPF 08. I’m frankly appalled that a beauty subscription service is sending out (sun-)tanning products when everyone is well aware of the effects that tanning has on skin and health. And considering that Ipsy knows that my skin tone is “ghostly pale” and I thus burn like a lobster at the slightest bit of sun, there’s even less of an excuse for sending something like this to me. There’s simply no way I would ever use a product like this, and I would discourage anyone from using “tanning oil” to bake themselves. For the record, this was a 1 oz. sample that appears to be worth about $4.
  • Bare Minerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow with Broad Spectrum SPF 15 in Divine Wine. This is supposed to be a miracle potion that primes, brightens, smooths, sunscreens, and basically does everything except the dishes. I was super-excited to be getting a Bare Minerals product in my bag, because I lust after their eyeshadows, but the color they sent me is a dark-cocoa-brown-but-with-a-bit-of-sparkle (“wine”, my left foot!), which is about as far from a primer shade as you can get on my skin. It applied smoothly and blended ok, but I dunno, just…the color. It was weird. As a primer this is actually a pretty good product, but given that primers are usually skin-toned, and a properly colored primer thus won’t stand out as an eyeshadow, it seems weird to be trying to do both with one product. I received a teeny-tiny 0.03 oz sample tube of this (seriously, so tiny. I opened it and promptly fumbled the little cap/applicator and smeared brown eyeshadow all down the front of my shirt. Don’t be like me, kids). A full-size 0.1 oz tube retails for $18, so this was worth about $5.50.
  • Total retail value of products in bag: $45 (though nearly half of that total is made up of just the Befine moisturizer)

And now for pictures! Here’s my face using the Bare Minerals shadow and the Pixi balm (also wearing: Maybelline Dream Wonder Fluid-Touch Foundation in Porcelain Ivory, ELF Long-lasting Lustrous Eyeshadow in some sort of sparkly rose-pink color, and Milani Liquid Eye liner pencil in Purple). The hint of pink you see on my lips is not from the Pixi balm, but from remnants of a pink lipstick I had on before I decided to use the balm instead).

Ipsy July 2014 face
Ipsy July 2014 face

Here’s a close-up of the eyes.

Bare Minerals - Divine Wine (blended up into crease)
Bare Minerals – Divine Wine (blended up into crease); ELF Long-lasting Lustrous Eyeshadow in ??? (sparkly pink but I lost the box with color name on it)

And here’s Facetious. Ignore what looks like shimmer in the bottle, that’s actually just my fingerprints. This is a straight-up creme finish.

Whet Nails - Facetious
Whet Nails – Facetious

Overall, I’m ok with this bag. The nail polish alone is worth the whole bag, and I’m sure I’ll find ways to use the eyeshadow and lip balm. I haven’t tried the moisturizer yet, but it never hurts to have another one of those around. As for the tanning oil…straight into the trash bin, and I’m considering writing Ipsy a “wtf???” note to boot.

Leave a Reply

