Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” Collection – swatches and review


The products in this post were received for free in exchange for a review. The opinions in this post are my own, but the text of this post has been approved by the brand.

Ok kiddies, prepare to squeal. Courtesy of Brandbacker, I got my hands on one of the new One Direction makeup kits I posted about a while ago. They sent me the Take Me Home collection, which features golds, browns, and pinks, which is just about perfect for me (I had my fingers crossed that I wouldn’t get the blue-based “Up All Night” collection – I’ve lived through the 80s, I don’t need more blue eyeshadow!). So without further ado, let’s get to the unboxing!

One Direction "Take Me Home" collection box, front view
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection box, front view

It’s a box! Whee! Well, more specifically, it’s a hinged metal box printed with brickwork, with a plastic sleeve printed with the boys and their signatures slipped around it. Gives it sort of a nice 3D effect, and when you take the sleeve off, you’re left with an unbranded (outside) reusable box, which is one of those things that’s handy to have around.

One Direction "Take Me Home" collection enclosure card, side 1
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection enclosure card, side 1

Also enclosed with my package was this cardboard card, which on one side tells me about the collections, and on the other side I’m special because I got a pre-launch preview (woo!).

One Direction "Take Me Home" collection enclosure card, side 2
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection enclosure card, side 2

Opening up the box, we find the makeup, securely stored in a plastic tray, on one side, and a card with instructions for some looks on the other.

One Direction "Take Me Home" collection box interior
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection box interior

A better shot of the makeup tray:

Makeup by One Direction "Take Me Home" collection makeup tray
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection makeup tray

Going clockwise-ish from the top left here, we have:

  • “I Wish”, a chocolate-brown eyeshadow/body pencil
  • A 5-pan eyeshadow palette
  • “Last First Kiss”, a bubblegum-pink lipstick
  • “Kiss You”, a sparkly orange lip gloss that glows under UV light
  • “Little Black Dress”, a basic black mascara
  • “Live While We’re Young”, a gold glitter nail polish topper
  • A set of body stencils which you’re intended to use with “I Wish” to decorate yourself

Swatches:

Makeup by One Direction "Take Me Home" collection swatches
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection swatches. Top row: I wish, Back For You, Change My Mind, C’mon C’mon, Little Things, Take Me Home. Bottom row: Last First Kiss, Kiss You

I gave everything a try, and here’s what that looks like (yes, I cheated and used beauty mode. I’ve been sick this week and you guys really don’t want to see me unretouched…)

Wearing the Makeup by One Direction "Take Me Home" collection
Wearing the Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection
Wearing the Makeup by One Direction "Take Me Home" collection
Wearing the Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection

Conveniently forgetting that the box gave me a guide for how to use the eyeshadows, I sort of rolled my own look here. I used “Back For You” (peachy cream) on my browbone, “Change My Mind” (sparkly pink-peach) on my lids, “C’mon C’mon” (gray-ish taupe) blended into my crease and under my eye, and “Little Things” (warm brown) to line my upper lids. Then I decided to get fancy and added “Take Me Home” (gold glitter cream shadow) to my upper and lower lashlines, and a touch of “I Wish” (brown cream shadow stick) to my crease.

Here’s those eyeshadows in-pan before use:

Makeup by One Direction "Take Me Home" collection eyeshadow palette
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection eyeshadow palette

And after use:

Makeup by One Direction "Take Me Home" collection eyeshadow palette
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection eyeshadow palette

Yes, as other reviews have noted, the glitter in “Change My Mind” and “Take Me Home” is largely an overspray that’s removed once you actually use the colors. But I didn’t have any trouble getting both to still register on my eye as shimmers; you’re just losing the serious chunks of glitter. The bigger problem I have with the overspray is that it makes “Change My Mind” look lighter than it is.

All of the shadows were a smidge on the soft side, and the color payoff on the mattes was mediocre, but hey, these are neutrals anyway. I found them to be quite pleasant to use and they blended well to make a beautiful, understated look. The only real complaint I have is that “Take Me Home” tends to migrate; within a half hour of application, my gold lower lashline looked like it was slowly melting down my face.

Makeup by One Direction "Take Me Home" collection lipstick and lipgloss
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection lipstick and lip gloss

We had a slight accident with my delivery, such that the package containing my kit ended up sitting on my doorstep for a few hot days while I was away, and “Last First Kiss”, the lipstick, suffered for that, melting a bit into the lid. But after I squished it back into the tube, it’s been perfectly fine to use, and I find the color surprisingly flattering on me. Bubblegum pinks are hit or miss with my complexion, but this is a hit. It’s not the most long-lived lipstick – plan to reapply every couple of hours – but it’s moisturizing and comfortable to wear, and generally quite nice.

The lip gloss here is interesting. In the tube and on my arm, it’s sparkly orange. On my lips, it spreads out to just a clear sparkly gloss, which is probably for the best because I’m not sure how I’d feel about my lips being this shade of orange. Unfortunately, I don’t have a UV light to test the glow of this with; I’m forced to use my imagination, which says this would look awesome.

Makeup by One Direction "Take Me Home" collection shadow pencil and stencils
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection shadow pencil and stencils

The kit bills “I Wish”, the shadow pencil, as an eye or body pencil. I tried it in both places. You can see it in my full-face shot above; it’s the unblended brown in my crease. It applied ok, but, well…didn’t blend very well at my soft touch. As far as using it for stenciling, the less said about my attempts, the better. Suffice it to say that a stencil using a very soft, chocolate brown shadow crayon and unsteady hands is mostly going to come out looking like a very soft, chocolate brown splotch that probably should be washed off, not photographed.

Makeup by One Direction "Take Me Home" collection nail polish and mascara wand
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection nail polish and mascara wand

The collection is capped off by a mascara – a very basic, does-nothing-in-particular black that added no particular curl, length, or volume to my lashes – and a glitter topper nail polish. The topper has medium gold hex glitter, as well as rose gold and teal small circle glitter. It’s a nice enough polish, but I don’t lack for gold-ish glitter toppers, so I sort of wish they’d gone for a more opaque polish of some kind – gold foil or holo, perhaps? Chocolate brown with gold shimmer would have been awesome.

Makeup by One Direction "Take Me Home" collection nail polish swatch
Makeup by One Direction “Take Me Home” collection nail polish swatch – two coats

Overall, I’m pleased with this collection. It definitely has its weak points – the mascara is just a nonentity, and the shadow crayon and I really need to have a serious talk – but I’m definitely going to get solid use out of the eyeshadow palette and the lipstick, and I see a UV light in my future purchase plans just so I can play with the lip gloss.

Leave a Reply

